Ceramics.

Kate Malone Ceramics.

745bc0679d8dae7c8092e5e6f278876b

Kate Malone’s appreciation for natural forms and her use of brightly coloured glazes make her one of my favorite ceramicists. Her work is strongly sculptural and drawn from nature, celebrating fecundity.  The repetitive, compact structure combined with the use of vibrant, beautiful colours gives her work a tactile element and a strong visual impact.

In my NML project, I produced a series of designs that involved a spiraling handle and immediately thought of her jugs and teapots. I quite like how the handle has such a huge aesthetic impact and is a main part of the design. More recently in my self directed project, I’m choosing to look at growth and natural forms – I always find myself coming back to her work for inspiration!

Blackberry Teapot, Kate Malone.

d3f3ded445f7744c9ea6437b107c368e

176228

Pumpkin Kate Malone.

Pumpkin adaptation

Pumpkin by Kate Malone

934eeb9f94ba8fd46a3b4a49281b1770

Above is probably my favourite work by Malone. Such a beautiful vase. I love art that functions and I wont deny my love for things pink and shiny. It almost looks edible!

Kate Malone

Kate Malone Lady gourd

Kate Malone

One thought on “Kate Malone Ceramics.

Leave a Reply

