Textiles/Fibres

The Magical Creations of Mister Finch.

Mister Finch!

Textile Fairytale Mushrooms

I came across a picture of these cute textile mushrooms when browsing on Pinterest and just had to do some research into the wonderful Mister Finch! Mister Finch is a self-taught textile artist creating handmade fairy tale creatures by himself. Not only is he inspired by nature and British Folklore AND personifies animals, he uses mostly recycled materials! Ethics aside, to me this means that even though his characters are being created today, they’re old and have a story. I could not love him more.

Black spider with poppies 2 small

Fabric Spider

Unfortunately for me my first project on my University course is in textiles, and while I love textile art I’m not so great at it myself. When told to bring 5 possessions in for the start of theΒ Self Portrait Project, I brought with me an old Enid Blyton book, and looking at the illustrations immediately made me think of the magical works of Mister Finch. The lace detail of an old make up applicator that belonged to my Grandmother, and an old picture frame that consisted of little teddy bears in dresses and hats also made me think of his work. His creations are everything I love.

Soft Sculpture Snails

“My main inspirations come from nature and often I return to certain ideas again and again.
Flowers, insects and birds really fascinate me with their amazing life cycles and extraordinary nests and behaviour.
British folklore is also so beautifully rich in fabulous stories and warnings and never ceases to be at the heart of what I make.
Shape shifting witches, moon gazing hares and a smartly dressed devil ready to invite you to stray from the path.
humanizing animals with shoes and clothes is something I’ve always done and I imagine them to come alive at night. Getting dressed and helping an elderly shoemaker or the tired housewife.”

hare-with-ruff-685x1024

Hare Doll with Ruff

Tea-making-spider-small

Tea Making Spider (look at his tiny tea pot and tea cup!!!)

Leave a Reply

