Lighting Design

Recycled Lighting by Stuart Haygarth.

Recycled Lighting by Stuart Haygarth.

Tide (2004)

Stuart Haygarth is a designer I always make sure I have in my contextual book, even if his work has no relevance to my projects. His ability to re-imagine waste and produce something beautiful is something I find so inspiring. I’ll admit I’m a bit of a tree hugger anyway, but I really do believe green design and recycling will become increasingly important over the years, which is why I try to look at environmentally friendly designs and the use of sustainable materials as much as I can now. Above is a chandelier made from man-made debris washed up on a specific stretch of Kent. It is made up from translucent objects, like bottles and other objects made primarily from plastic, and are joined together to make one large sphere despite their own individual forms. It says on his website that the sphere is is an analogy for the moon which effects the tides which in turn wash up the debris.

bf9629b95af5b0b229f509e4e0cb738b 36ea98061ea9c42ac6b9e01bbee55809

Above: Optical (2007) – Create from over 4500 prescription spectacle lenses

2 thoughts on “Recycled Lighting by Stuart Haygarth.

Leave a Reply

