Ceramics. / Sculpture

Yee Sookyung: Beautifully Broken Ceramics.

So I feel like being slightly productive as I procrastinate through my creative block and post about a wonderful ceramic artist completely irrelevant to my current project. Korean artist, Yee Sookyung creates these beautiful sculptures by taking broken, rejected porcelain pieces and fixing them together, emphasising the cracks with gold leaf. I absolutely love the idea of rejected pieces that weren’t good enough for one artist, being joined together to create something beautiful. I’ve believed these were small sculptures for a long time until I saw a photograph of a couple of pieces being displayed – to my surprise they’re huge!

03d73958b19103d24b07cd91a657804f
33fae26edff192fce1eae1ae83844ca4

Leave a Reply

