Works by Me

My First Attempt at Watercolour.

My First Watercolour (pencils) Painting.

While I love sharing the wonderful artists I come across, I’ve realised my blog is not quite as personal as I’d like it to be. This is mostly down to the fact my first year at university is mostly revolved around learning different techniques with various materials, so with each project I’m producing samples that don’t really amount to anything unless you see every sketch and thought process – which no one other than my tutors really want to see. So this is my first (and only) painting using watercolour pencils, of my lovely dog Tia!

I absolutely despise paint; I just cannot control it and it requires so much practice that I haven’t had (I’m one of those people who can’t stand not being good at something right away so I end up throwing my feeble attempts and sulking before I make any progress), so pencils were the way to go. I didn’t want it to be too realistic because I prefer paintings to involve unexpected splashes of colour and shapes else it’s nothing more interesting than a photograph, and obviously because if I tried to get it exact I’d lose my mind. I’m no fine artist – I can pick out a million things I want to change and aren’t quite right but for a first attempt I don’t completely hate it!

I’m one of those people that post too many pictures of their dog online, so I’m going to jump at the chance to throw in a few photos now.

1484166_10151876499572753_476171505_n

Looking sad as I tell her she’s not to bring her new found favourite stick into the house!

0ti

Smiling after stealing our chicken off the kitchen top – so hard to stay mad at that face. You can tell she regrets nothing.

000000000

Tia Dolling at the age of 10 weeks.

2 thoughts on “My First Attempt at Watercolour.

    • Thank you so much! I don’t think I’ve painted for fun since I was little so this was so much fun to do. Hopefully i’ll have the urge to paint again as it’s something I’d really love to be good at.

Leave a Reply

