Architecture

Glasgow Armadillo, Norman Foster

Market Research for Body Extensions
Much like Vivienne Westwoods armour ring, this building is very similar to the samples I produced in metal, where I looked at overlapping strips of metal, mimicking the structure of a shell.. somehow. I’ll admit this looks like nothing from my mood boards or even like a shell (considering I didn’t even look at armadillos) but my sketches and developmental stages of the project got me here, I promise.Β Armadillo was designed by English architect Norman Foster, who’s company maintains an international design practice, Foster + Partners. Other works of Foster include the Gherkin and the Hearst Tower.Glasgow Armadillo

6ee2ea4aee26faf7ed0d1c20cf10c704

30 St Mary Axe, informally known as 'The Gherkin'

30 St Mary Axe, informally known as ‘The Gherkin’

2 thoughts on “Glasgow Armadillo, Norman Foster

    • I do, although I’ve never seen it in person. I much prefer it when it’s lit up but I think that’s the same with any building as I’m mostly drawn to light and colour in architecture. It’s so distinctive and quite interesting to me in my current project!

Leave a Reply

