Ceramics.

Complex Ceramics by Nuala O’Donovan

a38cdc8c77ef440c4bfdbf2f25ae8d11

3c598e135bb3934a7bffbe4bc4983bd7
Ireland based artist Nuala O’Donovan creates these complexly structured ceramic pieces that immediately came to mind when I was presented with the brief for my new project Repeat, Duplicate & Echo. Unfortunately I’m stuck in textiles and digital design for this project – which I’m devastated about – but drawing inspiration from her work and trying to recreate and develop similar shapes and textures with fabrics (as opposed to clay) could be extremely interesting. Her work combines regular pattern with the characteristics of irregular forms and patterns found in nature – I can see so much of natures influence when comparing her work to some of the flower macro shots on my moodboards for this project. I love how delicate and tactile they are; there’s such an urge to touch her work.

Leave a Reply

