My Ceramics / University Work / Works by Me

Growth Series: Scaling Down

Having completed hand-building my jugs for this series, I found that the carved detail of the final jug had inspired me to look at segmented forms. I have been looking at seeds, pods, buds and vegetables/fruits and have produced another five pots. As my drawings are small, my tutor suggested I tried scaling down my practical work quite dramatically – each of these can fit in my hand! I’m really pleased with them as I just love small objects and collections. However I found them surprisingly time consuming and much more difficult than I had predicted; on average they took me 3 hours each!

Leave a Reply

