Ceramics.

Judi Tavill Ceramics

I’ve recently found myself looking at Judi Tavill’s wonderful modern coastal series. The deeply carved forms are especially interesting to me as I continue my third year project on growth, studyingย budding, spiraling and segmented forms. I love the oceanic surface textures she had created and the movement within her pieces; the flowing carvings and soft curves seem to be visually reminiscent of ocean & sand waves

download

IMG_4476

IMG_4514+-+Version+2

In my first project I am looking more specifically at segmented forms; trying slip casting, press moulding and sprigging! For my second project I am looking more at possibly joining ย individual pieces together to make a single organic form, or maybe even curved slab pots with layers – it’s pretty vague at the moment, but I found myself inspired by her work (below).

c2610a199fadd0592cd3710ba40ce154

 

Leave a Reply

